Secret Thoughts

We need never to shout across the spaces to an absent God.  He is nearer than our own soul, closer than our most secret thoughts.

The last year has felt like an emotional roller coaster.  That was to be expected with all that I’ve experienced in the last  eighteen months.  The journey as been challenging but rewarding. However, one thing I didn’t expect was at times I would feel so far away from God.  Especially since I have always felt so close to Him.  Where had He gone? I continue to pray even when I can’t feel His presence.  Yes, I will continue to reach out even when I feel that no one is reaching back.

Feeling the intimacy of God’s presence is a wonderful thing.  But on this earth, it is most likely a fleeting experience, not a perpetual state.  How I feel about something isn’t always an accurate gauge of what’s really true.  When my emotions say that God is far away, I remind myself of what is true-that God is always with me, and nothing can separate me or you from His love.

Do not be far from me, for trouble is near and there is  no one to help.
Psalm 22:11

The ways of God are without fault. The Lord’s words are pure. He is a shield to those who trust him. Who is God? Only the Lord. Who is the Rock? Only our God. God is my protection. He makes my way free from fault.
Psalm 18:30-32 NCV

The mountains may depart and the hills disappear, but even then I will remain loyal to you. My covenant of blessing will never be broken, says the Lord, who has mercy on you.
Isaiah 54:10 NLT

Leave a Reply

