Rough Waters

Your path led through the sea, your way through the mighty waters, though your footprints were not seen.  Psalm 77:19

Some of my fondest moments are vacations at the beach. I always find that the sound of the water is so calming and peaceful.  Regardless, of how turbulent the ocean seems to be, I always find tranquility. I spend countless hours walking the shoreline tossing rocks into the water, or searching for unique sea shells. Oftentimes, finding the perfect shell sits buried in a small pile of rocks, its silhouette unbroken by the rough waters.

Once I find what appears to be something worth adding to my collection, I pick it up and dust it off of all the sticky grains of sand,to see if it is in fact worth keeping.   One morning, while walking I found a very rare looking shell.  What a journey this shell  must have had, I recall saying to myself.

 I couldn’t help but think back over my own sometimes rocky journey of life.

I now have a better appreciation, and stand in awe, of just how God has brought me through seemingly rough waters, unbroken.

This is just a reminder of God’s faithfulness through the storms of life.  We should always be mindful of God’s faithfulness even when we can’t see Him as clearly when we are going through difficult seasons in our lives.  He is always there!

When outward strength is broken, Our faith must rest on the promises of God.

He comes alongside us when we go through hard times, and before you know it, he brings us alongside someone else who is going through hard times so that we can be there for that person just as God was there for us.
2Corinthians 1:4 The Message

Leave a Reply

