Losing Sight

A French Author, Andre Gide quoted, “One doesn’t discover new lands without consenting to lose sight of the shore for a very long time.” 

Well, I’ve been thinking about that quote a lot since I saw it in a Facebook status of a friend a few weeks ago. I would think that people like Christopher Columbus would have identified with those words very well.  In fact, I do too.

In our spiritual walk, losing “sight of the shore” is similar to faith I believe, and also speaks to hope. Whether we are willing to launch out depends on how much we treasure the new lands.  As Christians we might see the new lands as heaven, but I’m thinking a lot about answers to our prayers here on earth.

I’m thinking about some prayers that I launched more than 25 years ago. I also well remember something I said then. I told God from my heart that He could do with me any way He wanted to. I said; “I agree with you Lord, to do it your way and not mine.” That prayer has been very expensive for me. So the petition pushed off into the deep.

After all these years, I have just started to see glimpses of a new land.  At times it has been extremely hard but the land/promise is very prized and I have faith that I will see and enjoy all that has been promised to me. I continue to fix my eyes on the horizon and keep praying and waiting. This has comforted me while out to sea; “I would have lost heart, unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.” Psalm 27:13

 

Leave a Reply

