Learned Tongue

Have you ever been so weary in your spirit that you felt you would drop?

Whoever speaks to you next while you are in that condition holds a lot of power in their tongue even if they don’t know it.Along comes one who either lifts you up or crushes you further just by what they say. I’ve had it happen both ways and I know which I prefer.

Isaiah 50:4 says; “The Lord God has given Me the tongue of the learned, that I should know how to speak a word in season to him who is weary.”

We should always aim to provide a positive word in season. I wonder if you feel the same way. However, there are people who challenge where you are and make you feel like whatever condition you are in is your fault. Maybe so, but how does that help? A know-it-all person who has all the solutions while you just want to feel heard. Ahhh, how refreshing it is when the opposite occurs. A person who speaks words of encouragement and life and somehow causes your spirit to arise. How welcome that is.

As I examine myself I have to admit that I try to uplift others most of the time…. but have been on the flip side with people at times too. There are many words I’d like to retrieve because I know the person receiving them did not go away refreshed.I think the “tongue of the learned” is a slow tongue that thinks before it speaks. It is the tongue that asks the Lord whether to say anything at all and if so, what. It is the tongue that wants to impart God’s grace rather than be right or justify self.

 Lord God, please allow me to strive to have the tongue of the learned! And always encourage others and not tear them down.

Leave a Reply

