Presence of Power

I will never forget as a young child, I had a fear that there was someone hiding under my bed when the lights were turned off.  And this shadowy figure never appeared until after mom kissed me good night, and left the room.  Of course she would always comeback into my room, and we would look under the bed “together” and this always reassured me that there wasn’t anyone under my bed. 

This was my earliest experience with fear-driven insomnia, and it reminds me that when trouble arrives on the doorstep of life, fear is NOT my friend.  It disables us from moving forward and causes us to think too much, and shrink back from doing what we are purposed to do–unless we have our eyes focused on Jesus.

When the disciples faced the raging seas that were threatening to sweep them overboard, Jesus, walking on the water, assured them, “It is I: do not be afraid” (Matthew 14:27).  And to His followers who were fearfully locked away in a room after His crucifixion, Jesus appeared and asked, “Why are you troubled? And why do doubts arise in your hearts?” (Luke 24:38).  Recognizing the inevitability of trials, He said, “In the world you will have tribulations; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world” (John 16:33).  The point is clear.  Trusting in His presence and power is the solution to all of our fears. 

So whatever you may be facing today, trust the presence and power of Jesus in the midst of your storm.

 

But immediately Jesus spoke to them, saying, “Be of good cheer! It is I; do not be afraid.” Matthew 14:27

 

 

 

One thought on “Presence of Power

Leave a Reply

