Facing the Impossible

“I can’t”.  Two words that are used way too often.  With those words, we often dismiss our responsibility to do something God wants us to do.

I remember my feelings of inadequacy as I stood in front of a congregation.  I would have rather been nibbled by ducks than to stand in front of that group of people, staring and hanging onto every word. In my head, I knew that they were just waiting on me to pronounce a word incorrectly or something.  It was an awful feeling.

As frightening as those kinds of feelings are, we must never mistake them for reasons to avoid the direction God has for us in life.

Just look at Jeremiah.  God had prepared him to be “a prophet to the nations” (Jeremiah 1:5).  Yet when he heard of God’s plans, he immediately objected, “I cannot speak, for I am a youth”.  It is not clear how old Jeremiah was, but it didn’t matter to God.  He didn’t accept any of his objections.  No, not one.  Instead, the Lord provided what Jeremiah would need to succeed: His enablement, His presence, and the words to speak.

Listen to God.  What is He calling you to do for Him? Does it sound too hard?  That’s impossible!  If God has a job for us, it’s not us who will be doing it.  He is working through us to get it done.  That alone should take care of any feelings of inadequacy.  Yes, God has a plan for each and every one of us that He wants to fulfil.  And He will provide the strength that we need to carry out His will.  Always remember this: God’s strength always accompanies His call.

 

Do not be afraid of their faces, for I am with you to deliver you. 

Jeremiah 1:8  

 

 

Leave a Reply

