The Fruit Tree

fruit treeI am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing. John 15:5

For those that may have just began a new walk in Christ, be encouraged. Think of yourselves as newly planted fruit trees. A fruit tree you say; but why? Growing a fruit tree requires years of patience to allow the roots to reach down into the soil and establish themselves. Then the vine is strong, and the branches then become ready to bear fruit. As with the fruit tree, we must allow ourselves time to take root in God, and then we see the fruit of His love in our lives.

The day I accepted Jesus as Lord of my life, I thought that everything would change instantaneously, but the world was still the same the next day, and so was I for the most part. I didn’t realize at that time, that my roots were quietly growing and that it would take years before I would mature in the things of the Lord. I’m so thankful for the patience that Jesus invested in me during the years that my roots were being established.

Well, you are just as precious too. We are a continual work in progress. Our Father is taking great care of us. He is pruning and nurturing us. Don’t give up. Keep growing, learning, and believing…..great fruit is coming.

Leave a Reply

