Different Is Good

 

Several years ago my best friend and I spent time discussing the different “gifts” given to every believer from God, and how our personal gifting(s) were totally different from the other. We both agreed how it’s totally amazing and awesome how each person is created unique by GOD.  

She said that in the beginning of the friendship our differences caused her frustration on the one hand and great appreciation on the other. I agreed. We both agreed how I am more slow-paced and focused, and she considers herself as being a fireball and often less relaxed.  Jokingly, I said “Well I’m on your turf today…so I will follow your lead”.

As the day went along she kept moving ahead and wanting to move things along rather quickly. I however, remained patient and sensitive. When our visit was nearly over we totally realized that our giftings were different, and how we could never do what the other does so well. I’m sure she wouldn’t trade places with me or I with her.  We both realized how much we appreciated one another and realized just how different we were but how much we loved and appreciated our differences.  I guess you could say that if we were put on a scale..we would balance one another out.

The Bible says; “There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit. There are different kinds of service, but the same Lord.” (1 Corinthians 12:4) How easy it is for us to dismiss other people’s gifts and styles because they are so different to our own.  We are all tied to one tree, representative of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ…and even though our branches (gifts) from the tree extend in different directions, we are all equally attached to the trunk and created to benefit from one another and are all equally as valuable. 

On this day my friend and I left one another so thankful that our gifts are not alike, and that we can love one other, in spite of our differences. 

Isn’t it good to know that we are all different. Yet, play a key role in the plan of God, and are all equally as important one to the other.

Leave a Reply

