Bobbing For Apples

Be still, and know that I am God. Psalm 46:10

I remember bobbing for apples when I was a kid, a game that requires you to place your hands behind your back. Attempting to grab a floating apple with your teeth without use of either hand, in a tub of water. Which I might add if you’ve never done this, is rather frustrating to say the least.

This experience reminds me of the necessity of our hands. We eat with them, greet with them, and use them to do just about everything that is essential in our day-to-day living.

When I read Psalm 46:10, I find it rather interesting that God says, “Be still, and know that I am God.” The Hebrew word for “still” means to “cease striving,” or, literally, “to put our hands at our side.”

Well, this seems to be rather risky advice at first glance, since our initial response in times of trouble is to keep our hands firmly on the situation with hopes of somehow controlling its outcome.

However, God is saying, “Hands off! Let me deal with your problem, and rest assured that the outcome is in My hands.” Our problem is knowing when to take our hands off and let God work can oftentimes make us feel helpless and vulnerable.

Unless of course, we truly believe that God is indeed “our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble” and that ” the Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge“.

Yes, in the midst of trouble, God is in complete control. So take your hands off, listen for direction for that which you must do, be at peace, and let Him work.

2 thoughts on “Bobbing For Apples

  1. Early on in my Christian walk Psalm 46:10 was the first scripture the Lord ever gave me in a dream. I have found myself continuosly having to go back to the truth in this scripture. Im an achiever and a go-getter, it almost seems contrary to my nature to be still, but it is in the stillness that we find Him and know that He is God and we are not.

    1. Justin, to be still is a struggle for many of us. God is sovereign! He has every tinsy winsy detail of our lives under His complete control. Taking our hands off of our circumstances(hinders the process) and allowing God to do what only He can do, will bring deliverance so much faster. Have a great remaining week, Brother!

Leave a Reply

