Delight in You

There are too many of us who grew up in faith traditions that gave lip service to God’s love but more frequent testimony of His wrath.   I remember so fondly playing in between services outside with all of the other kids at church.  We would be running, laughing, talking….you know having a great time.   But for the times when the play became a little too loud or rowdy we would often hear the words, “The Lord doesn’t like ugly; you’ll get in trouble.”

Because of this early experience, many of us including myself struggled to understand the firm, just, yet loving God I love as an adult. In the Bible verse Zephaniah 3:17 The word “delight” strikes a cord.  Yes, God “delights” in US!

  I think of the delight I feel for my children, the powerful, heart-stopping, breath-catching delight that seems to be part of unconditional love.  If we mere humans can feel such love, how much more powerful is the love of God!  We are God’s children, awed by His love.

The word “rejoice” catches my attention.  I remember how elated I felt at the birth of my children and how I rejoiced that each child was whole, healthy, and breathtakingly wonderful.  If I, a mere human, can reach  such peaks of joy, how much more powerful is God’s joy in us?

So on low days when we feel unloved and unloving, remember that the God of love takes great delight in us and rejoices over us; and be comforted.

 

The Lord your God is with you, he is mighty to save.  He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love,  he will rejoice over you with singing.  Zephaniah 3:17

 

 

2 thoughts on “Delight in You

Leave a Reply

