Apart From God

” You are my Lord, my goodness is nothing apart from You.” Psalm 16:2

I must admit that I’ve got a sweet tooth for “Snickers” candy bars.  It’s at the top on my list of candies.

There are a lot of good things in life. Yet, like a feast of Snickers, the gooey goodness is soon over. Yes even the best of “good things” can leave us empty.

So when the psalmist declares, “I said to the Lord, You are my Lord, apart from You I have no good thing.” Wow what a “light bulb” moment!

We all know that God is good. However, when was the last time we actually embraced Him as the ultimate good in our life?

Unfortunately, too often we let lesser “goods” eclipse our acceptance of the everlasting goodness of God in our lives.

The ever changing “lesser goods” will ultimately  disappoint us, we can count on that.  Only God is truly good! And He has all we will ever need.

God is our preserver, counselor, teacher, provider, healer, peace, and joy. There isn’t anyone or anything like Him. He is truly good!

Blessings, Melissa

Leave a Reply

