Christians,Credits and Debits

In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart! I have overcome the world. John 16: 33

imagesGOJGLS1ZWhen I was in college, I had the privilege of taking accounting classes.  I say this sarcastically, because accounting was definitely not my favorite class.

Well, after taking one of the test, I was eager to get the results.  I passed the test, yet there was one section of the test that I struggled.  The problem was that I started with a faulty understanding of a basic banking concept. I somehow reversed debits and credits.

Well, in life we as Christians can sometimes get our debits and credits confused too.  How?  This  is my take on how it happens.

We at times have the tendency to blame Satan for everything that goes wrong in our lives. Whether its overwhelming negative circumstances to something as simple as misplacing our keys.  We actually give him credit that he doesn’t deserve.  In fact, we are giving him the power to determine the quality of our lives, which he definitely doesn’t have.

Satan is limited in time and space.  He has to ask God’s permission before he has access to touch us.  However, as the father of lies and prince of this world, Satan can cause a lot of confusion.  We were warned by Jesus of a time when we could in fact become so confused that we wouldn’t know right from wrong.  I admit, I’ve been there a few times.

On the flip-side, Jesus gave us a much needed assurance during these times.  “The prince of this world now stands condemned.”John 16:11

Problems will cause confusion and disrupt our lives, but they cannot defeat us.  Jesus has already overcome the world.  Therefore, in all things, Jesus Christ is deserving of all credit.  He hears. He sees. He understands.

When Satan attempts to accuse and confuse, God controls.

Leave a Reply

