Walk In Faith

Immediately Jesus made the disciples get into the boat and go on ahead of him to the other side, while he dismissed the crowd. After he had dismissed them, he went up on a mountainside by himself to pray. Later that night, he was there alone, and the boat was already a considerable distance from land, buffeted by the waves because the wind was against it.

Shortly before dawn Jesus went out to them, walking on the lake. When the disciples saw him walking on the lake, they were terrified. “It’s a ghost,” they said, and cried out in fear.

But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.”

“Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.”

“Come,” he said.

Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”

Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”

And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down. Then those who were in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.”

Matthew 14: 22-33

As a Girl Scout, I had the opportunity to go canoeing.  I remember like it imagesMXSTN2QXwas yesterday, having to walk along a very unsteady floating platform to reach the canoes.  I didn’t like it one bit.  I was terrified of falling between the platform and the canoe as I attempted to get in.  I was so close to nearly giving up.

However, the instructor calmly said, “Fix your eyes on me.” “I’m here, and I will catch you if you slip.” I did what she said, and I can now say (smiling) that I possess canoeing skills!

Many of us are reluctant to step out of our comfort zones in case we fail, get hurt, or look ridiculous.  But if we allow fear to bind us, we’ll end up afraid to do anything.

Reminded of the story of Peter’s water-walking adventure and why it supposedly failed is often discussed by many of us.  Yet, I don’t think I’ve  heard many discuss the behavior of the other disciples who stayed in the boat.

In my opinion, Peter was successful.

Yes, he probably felt fear rise up inside, but he responded to Jesus, got out of the boat, and walked toward Him. It could be said that those who didn’t try at all failed. imagesHYZ2XBFN

When we speak of stepping out of our comfort zone.  Jesus did just that…. He loved us so much that He left the comforts of Heaven, for you and I.

As we begin this New Year 2016, are you willing to step out of your comfort zone for Jesus?

Prayer: Father, thank you for stretching out Your hand to me and saying, “Come.” Help me to get out of the canoe of life( whatever that may be in your life), knowing that it is totally safe to walk on water with You.   In Jesus name, Amen!

 

 

Photo(s) courtesy of: All Christian News and Constant Contact

 

Leave a Reply

