Unto Thee

Lord of all pots and pans and things,mary%20and%20martha

Since I’ve no time to be a saint by doing lovely things,

Or watching late with Thee, Or dreaming in the dawn light,

Or storming heaven’s gates, Make me a saint by getting meals,

And washing up the plates.

Although I have Martha’s hands, I have Mary’s mind;

And when I black the boots and shoes, Thy sandals Lord, I find.

I think of how they trod the earth, Each time I scrub the floor.

Accept this meditation, Lord, I haven’t time for more.

Warm all the kitchen with Thy love, And light it with Thy peace;

Forgive me all my worrying, And make all grumbling cease.

Thou who didst love to give men food, In a room or by the sea,

Accept this service that I do….I do it unto Thee.

 

“The more lovely your service to others, the greater you are. To be the greatest, be a servant.” Matthew 23:11 TLB

 

Leave a Reply

