A Dead Sea or Sea of Galilee?

LIFE adorns the Sea of Galilee:
Its bosom teems with fish; its shores are green;
But to the south there lies the Salty Sea,
So desolate: no fish, no life is seen.

And yet from Jordan’s waters both receive.
Then why doth one have life; the other death?
‘Tis Nature’s law, to take and then to give;
For every breath we take we give a breath.

The Dead Sea drinks far more than Galilee,
But has no outlet in its selfishness;
While Galilee bestows its bounties free–
It issues forth its life mankind to bless.

Am I a Dead Sea, or a Galilee?
More blessed ’tis to give than to receive;
If I confine my thoughts to my and me
I’ll not bless others, but myself deceive.

Daily Heavenly Manna

2 thoughts on “A Dead Sea or Sea of Galilee?

Leave a Reply

